Knights of Columbus

The Knights of Columbus is a Catholic organization for men who are involved in charitable, social, and spiritual activities. There are two groups: a Council (which is often parish-based) and an Assembly, Fourth Degree (which is often regional and includes a number of Councils.)

History – The Knights of Columbus were founded in 1882 by Fr. Michael J. McGivney in New Haven, CT to 1) Help Catholic men remain steadfast in their faith through mutual encouragement, 2) Promote closer ties of fraternity, and 3) Setup a system of insurance so that widows and children of deceased members would not find themselves in dire financial straits.

Today’s Organization – Father McGivney’s group has blossomed into the world’s largest and most dynamic Catholic fraternal organization with over 1.75 million members and over 14,000 Councils throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico, the Philippines, Central America, the Caribbean, Poland, and Korea.

Our Principles –  The Knights of Columbus are dedicated to four core principles of Charity, Unity, Fraternity, and Patriotism. Our members actively support the Church Community, Council, Family, and Youth through their activities.

Who Can Be a Knight?  Membership is open to men 18 years of age or older who are practicing Catholics and aspire to live in accord with the precepts of the church.

LaSalle Council meets at St. Ignatius, usually on the second Monday of the month. Check with Ric Aielli or Tom Federle for more information:

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.Update my browser now